The Color of My Skin

Wonderful piece from Mommy Jenn! See her @poshmark closet at @jenn_sd

This Mommy is Real

4f18dc8557d063fe41bb065c07fff8dc

screenshot taken from the “Friends” television show

My sister and I are like ebony and ivory. I have olive toned skin, meaning that I have brownish, but not very dark, toned coloring. My sister takes after my mother and has much fairer skin.  This seemingly small difference between us has secretly become one of the foundations of my low self-esteem. My sister was always the cuter baby.  She was fairer, had dimples and a big smile. By contrast, I looked like a boy, had tan skin and had a chipped tooth from when I fell on my face months before.

I can remember the first incident – we were both fairly young and my mother took us to visit a friend of hers.  The friend was complimenting my mother on her daughters, but I only overheard the following:

Friend: “Little Sister is really cute. She’s got that wonderful smile with…

View original post 694 more words

